The Movie Is About To Start. Please Silence All Cell Phones…And Put A Muzzle On Those Teenaged Girls!!

June 26, 2009

Ok, this is going to be a rant. I am about to go ballistic on two fronts. And they both happened to me simultaneously. Let me start with the utterly disappointing one and then move on to the monumentally annoying one.

Julia and I decided to go to a movie at the theater inside our new neighborhood. This is a very nice joint. Leather(like) reclining stadium seating, big screen and good sound system. It is going to be great to have this awesome theater within walking distance of the house. We chose “Transformers: Rise of the Fallen” because we both enjoyed the first Transformers movie. Part 2 got a bad review, but critics often pan the big summer blockbusters. It couldn’t be that bad…or could it? Yes!!! It can be that bad. It may even be a little worse than the 1 star it received on my favorite movie site (reel.com). This is a colossal disaster of a movie. I have watched some stinkers in my time, but this one may just take the cake. I have never walked out of a movie, but I was seriously contemplating it tonight. I can’t even get into what was wrong with this movie. It was all wrong. It had no (none, zero, zilch) redeeming qualities. Megan Fox may be the only thing worth seeing in this movie. That is sad because I do not watch movies based on the hot chicks in them. Sure, bond girls add a little something, but I see those movies for 007. Do not waste your money on this flick! If you got “movie bucks” in a DVD purchase…give them away to someone you don’t like very much.

Now on to the real capper of the evening. While experiencing the melting of my brain during the movie, we were bombarded by the shrill sound of a gaggle of teenaged girls directly behind us. They just jabbered away through the previews. Ok, not really a problem. Then the movie started. I honestly could not hear the opening Optimus Prime speech over the senseless chatter. Julia and I both had to shush these girls…twice…each! And I am pretty sure I heard the people behind them ask them to keep it down. They recited lines from the movie…immediately after it was said on screen. They gave play-by-play for every robot battle. And, to top it off, they had crammed about 8 girls into the space of 5 theater seats. At one point I was prepared to stand up, tell them I was going come to their house while they are watching “The Hills” or “Degrassi High” (or whatever 14 year old girls watch) and talk all the way through it…about football!!!! Payton Hale: if you ever read this, do not ever be one of those girls! I will lock you in your room until you are 30 if I have to!

By tmhale13

Leave a Reply

