Say Hello To My Little Friend!

May 29, 2009

So I found myself in the market for a new car. I personally have not had a new car since getting married (unwritten rule…the wife always gets the newest vehicle). Well, the hand-me-down Montero was getting long in the tooth and D.C. driving is a task regardless. Much less in something a bit larger. So I started researching Mini coopers. Everything I read said they were awesome cars. Consumer Digest named it the “best bang for your buck” over Civics, Scions and really every other compact on the market. That was good enough for me to check them out. I have liked the look of this car since it was re-released about 5 years ago. I had no idea it would grab me like it did.

First things first, it is small! It is not a family car. This is a commuter. Two people can fit comfortably. Smaller children can fit well in the backseat. If you are over 12 or 13, not so much. But again, this is my commuter car. This is for me. It fits me just fine. If I need to haul anyone around, both of my kids can fit. If all four of us are going somewhere, that is what Julias car is for.

Now on to the fun stuff. This little car is a rocket! Imagine strapping a jet engine on a go-cart and you will have some idea of how this thing moves. It just wants to jump out and go! The new Camaro, Mustang and Challenger are thoroughbreds. They are powerful and fast. This is a jackrabbit. It is high spirited and quick. It wants to go fast, but loves to cut and turn. I took a few moderately fast turns on the way home and it just begged for more. I should have calculated in the cost of speeding tickets when budgeting for this car.

Beyond the sporty look and performance, this thing is loaded. It has a dual-pane sunroof, heated seats, rain-sensing windshield wipers, iPod interface and Bluetooth that can be controlled from the steering wheel. It also has gauges that monitor your tire pressure, fuel (MPG average, distance till empty, current MPG by the second) and outside temperature. This is the nicest car I have ever owned (the Highlander Hybrid is Julias, remember)!

Finally, I am sure some of you are a little shocked at my color choice. I was shooting for a royal blue or black. I went to the lot and they had both of those colors. right next to them was this ray of sunshine. It was just so much more interesting. That yellow just pops in the sun. While I was checking out the blue and white model, I simply could not keep from glancing over at this one. It really is eye-catching. A little window tint and this will be perfect. One killer bee!

By tmhale13

Leave a Reply

