Censorship Takes An Ugly Turn

August 7, 2007

Don’t get me wrong. I understand why TV and radio stations “bleep” out certain words. Children watch and listen to these stations and could easily pick up these foul words. It is not the place of mass media to expose our kids to such language. That, my friends, is the job of the parents! Honestly, there is not a word being blocked on the air that my kids have not heard me say (or yell) in any given traffic jam. I explain to them that they should not use those words, and they have mostly listened. But just the other day I was caught completely off guard. I was listening to a Panic at the disco! song called “I Write Sins Not Tragedies”. in this song there is the use of the phrase “God Damn”. And guess what. It was censored! I know. I know. “How could they do that?” you say. Well, it seems their is an offensive word in this phrase. The FCC has decided that we should not hear the word…..GOD! That’s right. They have censored God and left damn right there for all the world to hear. As some of you might know, I am not a religious man. I have yet to define myself. But the closest affiliation so far is atheist. That does not mean that this brings me joy (actually it stirs no emotion whatsoever). It is simply asinine! How could any stuffed suit hear this phrase and determine that God is the offensive portion? God is just a word. God is the supposed creator of man. Damn is something that gets mouths washed out with soap. I am not a moron. I realize that God damn is more profane than just damn because it is using the Almighty’s name in vain. I get it. But wouldn’t it have made a little more sense to bleep out damn? What is next? Dare they remove head from shit head? Maybe they could subtract mother from…well you get the point. I think they should start small and first remove (their) head from (their) ass.

By tmhale13

Leave a Reply

