A Light At The End Of The Tunnel

October 19, 2006

Well, as you can see above, I only have 22 more days in Iraq. I land back in Florida at around 9:00 p.m. on November 10th. What a relief that will be. I have almost forgotten what it is like to be someplace that is NOT Iraq. It will be tough giving up this 8×12 slice of heaven. I don’t know that I can transition back to sitting on a couch and going to a bathroom that is not out the door and down the way. All in all it really hasn’t been that bad. I have met some good people and some not-so-good people. I have seen another corner of the world and can rule out one more option on where to live when I retire. The food has been (mostly) edible and the sun has been (mostly) unbearable. I braved a few sand storms, a few bumps…or booms…in the night and the Big Bad Wolf. Now it is almost time to give it all up and get back to life as I knew it before.  As long as Julia and the girls haven’t commandeered, rearranged, painted or otherwise skewed what I remember leaving that is!

By tmhale13

Leave a Reply

